Throwback Thursday | Return of the 80’s

5.15.14

You know there is a cliché that says everything that is old becomes new again. It seems that things come in and out of style all the time. Fashion is no exception. If you’ve been following trends lately, I’m sure you have seen the cropped shirts and leggings making a staggering reappearance.

80's Madonna

 

Today, I want to take you down memory lane. I may be biased, but the 80’s were some of the best years of my life. From television shows to fashion accessories, I loved everything 80’s (and still do). Here are some of my favorite things I remember fondly.

The Purple One

princepurple_jpg_595x325_crop_upscale_q85

appollonia2

This movie needs no explanation. Purple Rain was one of the 80’s best films, and of all time! It will never get old.

Jem and the Holograms

Misfits

Jem

Jem and the Holograms was one of my favorites growing up. The main character was a strong female influence and  the typical situations on the show displayed how you can keep your dignity and integrity as a person, all while being fabulous and talented.

Denim Jackets

tiffany 80s denim jacket

image

The denim jacket was a huge part of our 80’s wardrobe. And like all trends, they all come back. The denim jacket is making a comeback, and will surely be a staple once again in our wardrobes. This one from H+M is just an example of how much the denim jacket has not changed much.

The Stirrup Pant

image

The stirrup pants were a phenomena that came in an array of colors and patterns, and it was a sign that you had true style. As a Catholic school girl, I didn’t get to wear these often, but on free dress days I would go straight for my stirrup pants.

See-Thru Phone

image

In middle school I begged my mom for my own phone line I the house just so I could get one of these phones. They were the coolest thing to see when they rang! It was a glorious day when I finally got mine.

Let’s Get Physical

image

Being a dancer most of my chiodhood, leotards were a huge part of my weekend wardrobe. And with the influx of aerobic exercise classes that inundated the 80’s, the leotard was the uniform for most aerobics classes.

Shoulder Pads

image

Now Ms. Collins wore a mean shoulder pad in the day, but these pads are taking on a new role in making a dramatic expression in fashion today.

image

Flashdance

image

Everyone from the 80’s and beyond remembers the infamous water bucket scene with Jennifer Beals in “Flashdance”. Well that scene sparked a phenomenon with legwarmers and leotards. But the off the shoulder shirt was her signature contribution to 80’s fashion.

Wherever you were in the 80’s I’m sure you osned or sported some of these items. Those were the days and I do miss those times, but they made me who I am today. So if you have any memories you want to share, feel free. Pictures, memories, etc. Happy #tbt sharing!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday | Return of the 80’s

Leave a Reply...we want to hear your feedback!

