Mad Monday | Mother of a Weekend

5.12.14

Mother’s Day was yesterday. I spent time with my mom for the weekend helping her with some things around the house. Those things she needed an extra hand with. It was the least I could do after all the things she’s done for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One project that took the most time was painting/staining the deck back to its original color. Back in 2000 when we first moved into the house, it was new construction and a big move for my mom and step dad who had just got married 4 years previously. This house was a big step for all of us, and it was cool! For 12 years my step dad took care of that house and him and my mom made it a home. Even though I no longer live there, it will always be a home. After my step dad passed in 2012, my mom had to take care of the house all by herself with some help here and there from friends and myself.

jake

 

So this project was something 2 years in the works. The deck needed to be re-stained and protected after 12 years, so this year we decided to do so on a weekend I would be at the house already. Not the typical Mother’s Day activities, but we both love DIY projects, so we decided to take on the project. So here’s a before:

IMG_3002

So after 6.5 hours of painting intricately and getting between each spindle and railing, this is the after:

IMG_3006

I’m still in a little bit of pain, but I’m pretty proud of the accomplishment. I get to say I did that and it looks pretty cool. Here’s some more shots of the deck.

It’s been a long weekend, but one that had it’s rewards. I hope you all had a happy Mother’s Day. I enjoyed mine.

Mom’s are special people!

Leave a Reply...we want to hear your feedback!

