Fall inspired | Ke Event Designs

Spiced Apples

11.5.12

Fall is my favorite season and it is approaching pretty fast. One thing I love about fall is the food, it is full of comfort and warmth. A great ingredient that is fruitful this time of year is the apple. Apples can be used in many diverse recipes, but one that is my favorite is simply to cook them and add flavor. Cooking apples is pretty simple, and I love simple. When it comes to sweets and desserts, I am not a fan of fussy. I prefer to taste what I cooked and have the simplest of flavors and tastes combined.

Green Apples

Growing up, my grandmother used to can fruits and vegetables from her garden. Being that I loved food, I would stand right there with her and watch what she did. One of my favorites is her canned spiced apples. I developed this recipe in her honor, without the time of canning. Something I wanted to prepare and enjoy right then.

Spiced Apples

4 Granny smith apples (the tarter, the better) cored and sliced
1 lemon
1/4 cup of water
1 tsp of vanilla extract
3/4 cup of sugar
1/4 cup of brown sugar
1 tbsp of cinnamon
Cloves, a pinch

Peel and core the apples, then slice in 1/4 inch slices. Put apples in a saucepan and add the water and juice from the lemon (the lemon juice will keep the apples from turning brown). Heat on medium low heat, until apples are soft. Add the sugar and brown sugar and stir until dissolved. Don’t let the apples boil, they will burn and you will lose your liquid. Add the spices, cinnamon and cloves, and continue to stir. The liquid will start to thicken into a syrup. This is the good stuff! Remove from heat and let cool for about 5 minutes. Once cool enough to eat, you can add the apples over ice cream or shortbread cookies, but I like them by themselves. Enjoy!

*This post is dedicated to my wonderful grandmother who continues to share her recipes with me!

Leave a Reply...we want to hear your feedback!

