Garden Harvest, Pt.1 | Ke Event Designs

So my grandmother, who is my inspiration for cooking, has a garden that she just cleaned out. Two weeks ago, she sent me some squash, green and red tomatoes and some onions. The flavors were unlike anything you get in the market. So she told me she had some more if I wanted it. Well, what she sent was what’s in this photo.

With this plethora of vegetables, I had to get creative to use it before it goes bad. I can’t let this go to waste, so I decided to look for something I know I like to eat and something that focused on the specific vegetable.

One thing I wanted to use quickly were the tomatoes. I like soups and I decided to use my interpretation of a recipe I found for green tomato soup on Epicurious.

Green Tomato Soup

Green Tomato Soup

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 oz thinly sliced smoked turkey leg, chopped (1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 chopped onion, vidalia
  • 2 – 15.5 oz cans of cannellini beans
  • 3 lb green unripe tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • Garnish: sour cream (optional)

Preparation

Heat oil in a 3-quart heavy saucepan over moderate heat until hot but not smoking, then cook turkey meat, stirring occasionally, until beginning to brown, 1 to 2 minutes. Add chopped onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are tender and lightly browned, 4 to 5 minutes.

Add tomatoes, broth, water, salt, and pepper and simmer, partially covered, until tomatoes are tender, 15 to 20 minutes. Add the beans, and continue to simmer for another 6 – 8 minutes. Season soup with salt and pepper.

It was really good, hearty, and filling. I think I’m going to freeze all I had and save it for a nice fall day!

~Bon apetit

2 thoughts on “Garden Harvest, Pt.1 | Ke Event Designs

    1. The soup was actually pretty tasty and clean. I froze what I made for a cool, fall day. It was also very hearty because I added the beans. Let me know how you like it. My grandmother still had some more, but I still have 8 more to do something with. 🙂

Leave a Reply...we want to hear your feedback!

